Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

    University of Tennessee, Knoxville
    Dec 03, 2023  
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog 
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Tickle College of Engineering

Leon M. Tolbert, Interim Head
Jens Gregor, Director of Graduate Studies

Berry, M.W., PhD – Illinois
Blalock, B.J. (Blalock-Kennedy-Pierce Professor), PhD – Georgia Tech
Del Maestro, A., PhD – Harvard
Djouadi, S.M., PhD – McGill (Canada)
Fathy, A.E. (McConnell Professor), PhD – Polytechnic Institute of New York
Gregor, J. (McConnell Fellow), PhD – Aalborg (Denmark)
Gu, G., PhD – Princeton
Huang, J., PhD – Ohio State
Kilic, O. (Dean), PhD – George Washington
Langston, M.A., PhD – Texas A&M
Li, F. (McConnell Professor), PhD, PE – Virginia Tech
Liu, Y. (Governor’s Chair Professor), PhD – Ohio State
Mockus, A. (Ericsson-Harlan D. Mills Chair Professor), PhD – Carnegie Mellon
Parker, L.E. (Associate Vice Chancellor), PhD – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Peterson, G.D., DSc – Washington (St. Louis)
Plank, J.S., PhD – Princeton
Qi, H. (Gonzalez Family Professor), PhD – North Carolina State
Rose, G.S., PhD – Virginia
Sun, J.S., PhD – Florida
Sun, K., PhD – Tsinghua (China)
Taufer, M. (Dongarra Professor), PhD – ETH (Switzerland)
Tolbert, L.M. (Min H. Kao and Chancellor’s Professor), PhD, PE – Georgia Tech
Tomsovic, K.L. (CTI Professor and Chancellor’s Professor), PhD – Washington
Wang, F. (Condra Chair of Excellence Professor), PhD – Southern California
Wu, J., PhD – Notre Dame

Associate Professors
Anzt, H., PhD – Karlsruhe (Germany)
Bai, H., PhD – Tsinghua (China)
Beck, M., PhD – Cornell
Cao, Q., PhD – Illinois
Costinett, D., PhD – Colorado
Emrich, S., PhD – Iowa State
Jantz, M., PhD – Kansas
McFarlane, N., PhD – Maryland
Pulgar, H., PhD – Illinois
Thapliyal, H., PhD – South Florida

Assistant Professors
Aziz, A., PhD – Purdue
Kim, D., PhD – Maryland
Li, W., PhD – North Carolina (Chapel Hill)
Liu, J., PhD – Rutgers
Padakandla, A., PhD – Michigan
Ruoti, S., PhD – Brigham Young
Santos Villalobos, H., PhD – Purdue
Schuman, C., PhD – Tennessee
Swaminathan, S., PhD – Carnegie Mellon
Wilson, D., PhD – California (Santa Barbara)

Professors of Practice and Lecturers
Crumpton, C., MS – Tennessee
Disney, A., PhD – Tennessee
Icove, D. (UL Professor of Practice), PhD – Tennessee
Linder, R., PhD – Texas A&M
Marz, S., PhD – Tennessee
Taousser, F., PhD – Polytechnic (France)

Adjunct Faculty
Holt, L., PhD – Tennessee

Abidi, M.A., PhD – Tennessee
Birdwell, J.D., PhD – Massachussetts Institute of Technology
Bose, B.K., PhD – Calcutta
Dean, M.E., PhD – Stanford
Dongarra, J.J. (University Distinguished Professor), PhD – New Mexico
MacLennan, B.J., PhD – Purdue
Thomason, M.G., PhD – Duke
Vanderzanden, B.T., PhD – Cornell

Majors, Degrees
Computer Engineering Major, MS Computer Engineering Major, PhD     
  Energy Science and Engineering Concentration (PhD only)
Dual MS-MBA Program, Computer Engineering - Business Administration     
Computer Science Major, MS ; Computer Science Major, PhD      
  Cybersecurity Concentration
  Data Analytics Concentration (available for PhD)
  Data Mining and Intelligent Systems Concentration
  Intelligent Systems and Machine Learning Concentration (available for PhD)
  Software Engineering Concentration
Dual MS-MBA Program, Computer Science - Business Administration    
Electrical Engineering Major, MS Electrical Engineering Major, PhD     
  Energy Science and Engineering Concentration (PhD only)
  Power Electronics Concentration
Dual MS-MBA Program, Electrical Engineering - Business Administration   
Reliability and Maintainability Engineering Major, MS     
  Computer Engineering Concentration
  Electrical Engineering Concentration
Graduate Certificates
  Fire Protection Engineering Certificate    
  Power and Energy Systems Certificate    
  Reliability and Maintainability Engineering Certificate
    Computer Engineering Concentration    
    Electrical Engineering Concentration    
  Wide Bandgap (WBG) Power Electronics Certificate    

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science was formed after the merger of the Department of Computer Science and the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 2007. The department offers graduate programs leading to the Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy with majors in electrical engineering, computer engineering, or computer science.

Graduate work leading to the Master of Science with a major in electrical engineering, computer engineering, or computer science may be completed during three semesters of full-time study or two to three years of part-time study.

The departmental graduate committee is responsible for administering, promoting, and advancing the general well-being of the graduate program. Departmental actions regarding a graduate student may be appealed in writing, first to the departmental graduate committee and then to the department faculty. The catalog program description provides details regarding the graduate program requirements.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Tickle College of Engineering