May 19, 2024  
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog 
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog

The Graduate School - Administration and Governance

Dixie L. Thompson, BA, MA, PhD — Vice Provost and Dean
Ernest L. Brothers, BS, MS, MPPA, PhD — Associate Dean
Carl Collins, BA, MPA — Associate Dean and Director of Graduate Admissions
Abby Sherman, BS, MS — Coordinator of Student Services
Catherine Cox, Graduate Catalog Editor and Curriculum Coordinator



Chair: Dr. Laurie Meschke
Chair-Elect: Dr. Phyllis Thompson

Agriculture Dr. Bonnie Ownley July 31, 2025 Dr. Toni Wang
Architecture and Design Dr. Avigail Sachs July 31, 2025 Dr. George Dodds
Arts and Sciences Dr. Alvaro Ayo July 31, 2025 Dr. Hong Guo
  Dr. Rodica Frimu July 31, 2023 Dr. Konstantinos Vogiatzis
  Dr. Rachel Patton McCord July 31, 2025 Dr. Asafa Jalata
  Dr. Jaan Mannik July 31, 2023 Dr. Aaron Buss
  Dr. Chris Pickart July 31, 2023 Dr. Johnathan Brantley
  Dr. Gary Uzonyi July 31, 2023 Dr. Matthew Buehler
Business Dr. Amy Cathey July 31, 2025 Dr. Haileab Hilafu
  Dr. Kelly Hewett July 31, 2024 Dr. Mike Yates
  Dr. Mohammed Mohsin July 31, 2023 Dr. Terry Leap
  Dr. Jama Summers July 31, 2025  
Communication and Information Dr. Moonhee Cho July 31, 2025 Dr. Laura Miller
  Dr. Nick Geidner July 31, 2025 Dr. Devendra Potnis
Education, Health, and Human Sciences Dr. Jason Scott July 31, 2024 Dr. Mitsunori Misawa
  Dr. Adam Love July 31, 2025 Dr. Elizabeth MacTavish
  Dr. Jeanie Lim July 31, 2023 Dr. Stefanie Benjamin
  Dr. Mehmet Aydeniz July 31, 2023 Dr. Joshua Kenna
Engineering Dr. Siris Laursen July 31, 2024 Dr. Lee Han
  Dr. Aly Fathy July 31, 2024 Dr. Haixuan Xu
  Dr. Khalid Alsibli July 31, 2025 Dr. Jim Ostrowski
  Dr. Andrew K. Dickerson July 31, 2025 Dr. Colleen Crouch
  Dr. Maik Lang July 31, 2025 Dr. Nick Brown
Law Professor Sibyl Marshall July 31, 2025 Professor Rebecca Bryan
  Professor Briana Rosenbaum July 31, 2025 Professor Wendy Bach
Nursing Dr. Allyson Neal July 31, 2024 Dr. Julie Bonom
Social Work Dr. Katherine Montgomery July 31, 2025 Dr. Stan Bowie
  Ms. Kate Chaffin July 31, 2023 Dr. Lisa Zottarelli
  Dr. Jennifer First July 31, 2025 Ms. Ashley Pennell
Bredesen Center Dr. Yanfei Gao July 31, 2025 Dr. Russell Zaretzki
Comparative and Experimental Medicine Dr. Rick Gerhold July 31, 2024 Dr. Madhu Dhar
UT Space Institute Dr. Paul Palies July 31, 2025  
Veterinary Medicine Dr. Kim Newkirk July 31, 2024 Dr. Mohamed Abouelkhair
  Dr. Melissa Hines July 31, 2025 Dr. Stephanie Kleine
Graduate Student Senate Mr. George Fields July 31, 2025  
  Mr. Leighton Chappell July 31, 2025  
Office of Research and Engagement Dr. Hannah Schmidt July 31, 2025  

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Dixie Thompson, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Dr. John Stier, Herbert College of Agriculture
Prof. Katherine Ambroziak, College of Architecture and Design
Dr. Brendan McConville, College of Arts and Sciences
Dr. Bruce Behn, Haslam College of Business
Dr. Virginia Kupritz, College of Communication and Information
Dr. Kristina Gordon, College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences
Dr. Ozlem Kilic, Tickle College of Engineering
Prof. Paula Schaefer, College of Law
Dr. Sadie Hutson, College of Nursing
Dr. Javonda Williams Moss, College of Social Work
Dr. India Lane, College of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. David Anderson and Dr. Agricola Odoi, Comparative and Experimental Medicine
Dr. Gretchen Neisler, Director, Center for Global Engagement
Dr. Diana Moyer, Office of Research and Engagement
Dr. Sean Schaeffer, Research Council
Prof. Holly Mercer, University Libraries