Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

    University of Tennessee, Knoxville
    Feb 07, 2023  
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog 
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Division of Biology

Major Requirements 

Minor Requirements

The Division of Biology consists of the following departments: Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology (BCMB), Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (EEB), and Microbiology. Each offers a separate concentration within a common Bachelor of Science major, Biological Sciences, followed by the concentration name. (Honors options are described after each concentration.) See departments for catalog information.

Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology Concentration 

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Concentration 

Microbiology Concentration 

Plant Biology Concentration 


Students pursuing a B.S. degree in biological sciences are eligible to participate in the University’s VolsTeach program (, which permits students to simultaneously complete a major in mathematics or science and receive secondary education teaching licensure within the 4-year undergraduate degree program through completion of a VolsTeach minor. For more information about VolsTeach, including advising associated with teaching licensure requirements, contact the Center for Enhancing Education in Mathematics and Science (101 Greve Hall).

Major Requirements 

Minor Requirements